Turkey May, 2020

It was cold and chilly all day today while I was turkey hunting.  Once, I went back to the truck to warm up and decide if I should go back out or not.At 7 AM, two birds came down the north side of the field.  I was in some brush on the south side with two decoys.  When they were about 1/2 way, they came to my decoys.  I realized they were two males (jakes).  Their beards were about 2″ long.  They moved like two yoke oxen; in step together, pecking down in synchrony, and stretching their necks to look around.  It was interesting to watch, although it was only about 50% of the time as they traversed the field.My two decoys were about 15 yards from my brushy hangout and the birds came right to them.  They were appeared to be befuddled by the non-responding of the decoys.  They stood there and twisted their heads.They never gobbled, nor did they fan and strut.  I thought about taking the bigger one, but when I decided I’d shoot, the second bird was always in the way.  Also, it was early and I was sure the big guy would be strutting down shortly.  After about 20 minutes, they meandered off, looking back intermittenly.At 8 AM, four more jakes came from the west side of the field.  They were very splendid in their dark, shiny, sunlit feathers.  Just like the others, they never gobbled, strutted or displayed.  They just kept moving towards the first decoy.  They were unsure about the inanimate decoys and twisted and turned seeking a response from the decoys.  Finally, they were looking like they would move on.  I decided I would take the larger one.  Not to be.  The other three jakes managed to stay between me and the targeted one.  And, they too meandered down the field and out of sight.At 9 AM is when I went to the truck for some R&R.  I decided to go back to the spot and stayed until 10:30, no action.  I moved into the woods where the four turkeys had originated and made a few calls.  I did get one gobble out in front of me, but no bird appeared.  I finished the morning back at my spot and debating about tomorrow morning which is projected to be 34 degrees at sunrise!Lester Holt, nightly news, says there is going to be a meat shortage, so I will not hesitate to squeeze the trigger tomorrow. 25 more days, so I am confident.

Leave a comment